Go for a run and help an old lady

I really hate exercise, but over Christmas I very nearly turned into a potato after sitting at a desk moping for a few months, and because of a gluttonous family tradition where there’s a competition to see how many roast potatoes people can eat. Eventually, in classic new year style, I decided to join a gym. I know, gyms can be expensive. I’m lucky because my local one has a pay as you go scheme which is cheap, so it’s worth seeing if there are any like that near you. I was surprised to find that the cliché was true, and that I feel much more positive and in control of what’s going on in my life.

Or, the great blustering outdoors is always open! I know right now you’d probably be better equipped with a canoe than with just your little legs, but it might be worth a try. Alternatively, I’ve just found this great scheme called Good Gym. It explains all about it here, but basically you run to an elderly person’s house in your area, ‘deliver something nice, have a brief chat and are on (your) way again. It helps you get fit by providing a good reason to go for a run and it helps the person being visited by providing them with some friendly human contact and a newspaper or piece of fruit.’

Because they focus on helping lonely people over the age of 65: ‘GoodGym has a rigorous safety policy that will ensure that everyone using GoodGym is safe.  Runners are interviewed by the GoodGym team and require a Criminal Record Bureau enhanced check.’ So that’s good.

Leave a Reply

